The Northeast Department of Music will be holding a winter concert

Northeast Community College’s music department will host its annual winter concert in February. The concert will take place on Sunday, February 19 at 2pm at the Lifelong Learning Center on the Norfolk campus. The event is free and open to the public.

The college/community concert band, percussion ensemble and concert choir will take the stage.

Selections to be performed by the concert choir include Jay Althouse’s “Cantar”; Pink Zebra’s “Winter with You”; “I’m Just a Poor Wayfarin’ Stranger” arranged by Patti Drennan; and Amy Bernon’s “Winter Colors.” The women’s choir will perform “The Wellerman” arranged by Jacob Narverud, while the men’s choir will perform “Winter’s Heart” by Mark Hayes and “Irish Country Dance” by Kirby Shaw.

The choir is directed by Margaret Schultz, music teacher, accompanied by Linda Boullion.

Selections to be performed by the community/college concert band include “Prelude, Siciliano & Rondo Arnold” arranged by John Paynter; Lumir Havlicek’s “On the Big Blue”; Robert Sheldon’s “Chimney Rock Celebration”; John Zdechlik’s “Psalm 46”; and “Homestretch Galop” by Karl King and arranged by Gene Milford.

The college/community concert band is led by Kevin McLouth, instrumental music instructor/director of instrumental activities at Northeast.

Concert choir members include:

Alto — Kathryn Carey, Norfolk; Reilly Donscheski, Palmer; Rachael Neurnberger, Winside; Trinity Peltier, Cozad, Hannah Santos, Albion; Hailey Seagren, Wausa; Rhiannon Van Fleet, Norfolk; Hanna Vokoun, Chelsea, Iowa.

Soprano — Lela Frerichs, Stanton; Emily Hespe, Springview; Destiny Holland, Norfolk; Shelby Klaumann, Gladstone; Hanna Taylor, Norfolk.

Bass—Parker Barnes, Wahoo; Grant Frerichs, Stanton; Carter Hasemann, Wayne; Kellan Sager, Norfolk; Ram Watters, Panama.

Tenor – Drake Boyle, Norfolk; Connor Larsen, Tilden; Jeremiah Polak, Coleridge; Collin Sowards, Maryville, Missouri; James Torres, Madison.

Community/college concert band members include:

Flute—Sydney Erickson, Norfolk; Carrie Jensen, Norfolk; David Klee, Colombo; Amber Knight, Madison; Leah Levin, Ashland; Virginia Maas, Hoskins; Ellie Phelps, Newman Grove; Marie Scheer, Madison; Linda Steele, Norfolk.

Oboe — Brooke Painter, Norfolk.

Bass clarinet — Jay Grote, Norfolk; Shyann Rohloff, Osmond.

Euphoniums: Ken Hamsa, Norfolk; Riley Montoya, Newman Grove; James Schoeberner, Gayville, South Dakota.

Tuba—Devon Chambliess, West Point; Isaac Gunther, Norfolk; Seth Rivest, Battle Creek.

Trumpet — Chris Asbury, Norfolk; Kelly Asbury, Norfolk; Sarah Harrod, Norfolk; Lynn Matthies, Norfolk; Rachael Nürnberger, Wakefield; Dominic Pavlik, Verdigris; Curtis Stevens, Creighton; Les Swanson, Norfolk; Hanna Vokoun, Chelsea, Iowa.

Bassoon – Melora Hirschman, Norfolk.

Horn – Bryon Hirschman, Norfolk; Pat Leavell, Norfolk; Cole Uzzell, Norfolk.

Baritone saxophone — Ryan Ginn, Norfolk; Allie Kotrous, Verdigre.

Clarinet — Becca Asbury, Norfolk; Karen Goetsch, Norfolk; Emma Green, Chambers; Hannah Santos, Albion; Sue Sieler, Norfolk; Jessica Stark, Plainview; Brianna Worley, Lincoln.

Percussion — Parker Barnes, Wahoo; Emily Carstens, Creighton; Caleb Neben, Lexington; Rhiannon Van Fleet, Norfolk.

Trombone – Noah Asbury, Norfolk; Tom Brodecky, Columbo; Chris Efta, Pierce; Josh Fulton, Stanton; Jacob Mann, Winside; Randy Neuharth, Norfolk; Jason Schmidt, Battle Creek.

Tenor sax — Tory Stevens, Creighton.

Content Source

The Sarpy County – Latest News:
Omaha Local News || Nebraska State News || Crime and Safety News || National news || Tech News || Lifestyle News

Related Articles

Back to top button