Potential impacts from Ian prompted Grand Strand areas to issue states of emergency

HORRY COUNTY, South Carolina – Multiple governments along the Grand Strand have declared states of emergency in anticipation of Tropical Storm Ian’s probable repercussions.

The county of Horry stated on Wednesday that its state of emergency will take effect at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday. It will be in effect for sixty days until terminated earlier.

The county also stated that when the state of emergency is declared, it will transition to OPCON 2 operations, which entails “a heightened state of awareness and the implementation of emergency plans.”

During an emergency city council meeting on Wednesday, the City of North Myrtle Beach also agreed to declare a state of emergency. This order is in effect at this time, with the city operating at OPCON2.

The City of Conway declared a state of emergency on Thursday following a meeting of the city council. Officials in Conway are likewise operating under OPCON2 with a partially functional emergency operations center. It is anticipated to be completely operational by Friday.

Scotland County in North Carolina issued its own emergency decree on Thursday. According to officials, no countywide curfews are in place.

As county authorities continue to closely monitor the situation, negotiations are already ongoing with the South Carolina Emergency Management Division, coastal communities, and local governments.

Content Source


The Sarpy County – Latest News:
Omaha Local News || Nebraska State News || Crime and Safety News || National news || Tech News || Lifestyle News

Related Articles

Back to top button